If you accidentally send a message to a person, there is an option to delete those sent messages and never show them to anyone again as long as you realize your mistake in time, but what would happen if you got the wrong message deleted? or worse, delete it just for us instead of all recipients in a group chat? whatsapp now testing the beta version of a way to retrieve and restore the message.
In early June, WhatsApp tested an option to undo accidental deletion of messages. WABetaInfo reports that the feature is now available to a handful of beta testers on Android with the version 18.104.22.168 of the app, but some users may also find the option to cancel uninstalling older versions, and activation for more beta testers is expected in the coming weeks.
After you delete a message for yourself, a notification will appear at the bottom confirming the deletion, and it also has a Cancel button to help you recover the deleted message. Note, this is only visible for a few seconds, and that’s all the time you need to change your mind and save the message. Many apps have a similar interface flow to cancel a task, the main one being Gmail based on communication. WhatsApp takes this one step further with this feature, a kind of undo-undo-send.
A way to undo deletions it could be the savior in case you were wrong and accidentally clicked the Delete for me option when you wanted to press Delete for everyone, but even if you don’t, we’d rather undo a deletion than retype the whole message.
Source: Lega Nerd