The Jaguar brand will cease to be a premium car manufacturer following the restructuring of the Jaguar Land Rover business.

Land Rover will split into three independent brands

Back in the summer, the manufacturer announced a new development strategy until 2030, within which it is planned to completely switch to electric vehicles.

Therefore, as part of the restructuring, the Land Rover brand will cease to exist, and three brands will take its place at once: Discovery, Range Rover and Defender.

And the Jaguar brand will cease to be a premium car manufacturer. Instead, he will focus on assembling luxury cars. The first model will be a sedan powered by an electric GT class, it is positioned as the most powerful Jaguar in history.

Also, instead of the long name Jaguar Land Rover the abbreviated JLR will soon be used officially. These changes were explained by the inconvenience of such long names. Often in conversation, instead of the full Land Rover Range Rover Velar, they use an abbreviation without the first two words.

The company believes that the rebranding will not affect customer perception.

Flagship models will retain the MLA platform, which supports electric propulsion. And the younger models, in turn, will be fully electric.

Set up your RB.RU subscription


Natalia Gormaleva

Source: RB

Previous articleBio batteries made with bacteria have a lifetime of up to 100 years
Next articleA look at the RTX 4070 Ti from Nvidia
I am a professional journalist and content creator with extensive experience writing for news websites. I currently work as an author at Gadget Onus, where I specialize in covering hot news topics. My written pieces have been published on some of the biggest media outlets around the world, including The Guardian and BBC News.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here